Monday, November 3, 2014

Installation Required and Upgrade Blocked



Installation Required  and Upgrade Blocked

I am getting more Queries from SharePoint community about the below, so explaining in this article.

Definition: when we Install the CU in the farm, we see the Installation required and upgrade blocked in the status of servers under the system settings in CA.

Installation Required : The server still not yet install with the same CU that already installed in other servers.

Upgrade Blocked : The server is blocked from upgrade. current Server is installed with latest CU and it will remained blocked until all the SP servers in the farm are installed with the same version.
 

I hope the above information will help you to resolve the issue, in case of any queries/questions regarding the above mentioned information then please let me know. I would be more than happy to help you as well as resolves your issues, Thank you.

Sticky sessions



Sticky sessions:

This is a general topic about the requests from users when they access the sites. I am getting more Queries from SharePoint community so explaining in this article.

Definition: If you have multiple front-end servers a sticky session ensures that every request of a client gets redirected to the same server instead of all requests of a single client divided over multiple servers. This makes handling session state easier, as you'll only have to store it in memory if you have sticky sessions. Otherwise, you'll have to have a central store that is accessed by all front-ends. The stick session feature is comes up with the LB not the share point. It should be  configure in the LB.
 


I hope the above information will help you to resolve the issue, in case of any queries/questions regarding the above mentioned information then please let me know. I would be more than happy to help you as well as resolves your issues, Thank you.

Your backup is from a different version of Microsoft SharePoint" - Error while restoring the site



Your backup is from a different version of Microsoft SharePoint" - Error while restoring the site

Error: Restore-SPSite: Your backup is from a different version of Microsoft SharePoint Foundation and cannot be restored to a server running the current version. The backup file should be restored to a server with version '4.2.7.0' or later.

Resolution: First check the patch level of  your source and destination environment. Make sure your destination environment is not at lower version than the source. If so , you may need to patch your environment as same as your source.

Steps to Check Database Schema Versions :

Central Administration application Management à Manage content databases Select your database where you want to restore click on the DB name à  under “Database Versioning and Upgrade” you can see something like below

Microsoft.SharePoint.Upgrade.SPContentDatabaseSequence Current Schema Version: 4.1.30.0, Maximum Schema Version: 4.2.7.0
Microsoft.SharePoint.Upgrade.SPContentDatabaseSequence2 Current Schema Version: 4.1.7.0, Maximum Schema Version: 4.1.7.0
Microsoft.SharePoint.Administration.SPContentDatabase Current Schema Version: 14.0.6137.5002, Maximum Schema Version: 14.0.7105.5000

If the Current Schema Version is less than the Maximum Schema Version, then the database should be upgraded as soon as possible.

To Upgrade content database, Execute the below command in powershell.

Upgrade-SPContentDatabase <Content_db_name>”

After executing the command,

Microsoft.SharePoint.Upgrade.SPContentDatabaseSequence Current Schema Version: 4.2.7.0, Maximum Schema Version: 4.2.7.0
Microsoft.SharePoint.Upgrade.SPContentDatabaseSequence2 Current Schema Version: 4.1.7.0, Maximum Schema Version: 4.1.7.0
Microsoft.SharePoint.Administration.SPContentDatabase Current Schema Version: 14.0.7105.5000, Maximum Schema Version: 14.0.7105.5000

Now the database is upgrade to the version 4.2.7.0 and you can restore without any issues.

 


I hope the above information will help you to resolve the issue, in case of any queries/questions regarding the above mentioned information then please let me know. I would be more than happy to help you as well as resolves your issues, Thank you.

Friday, October 31, 2014

Recycling of application pools when memory limits are exceeded.



Recycling of application pools when memory limits are exceeded.

Summary:  Application pools recycle because memory limits have been enabled and exceeded. Recycling based on memory limits is not usually necessary in a 64-bit environment, and therefore recycling should not be enabled. Unnecessary recycling can result in dropped requests from the recycled worker process and slow performance for end users who are making requests to the new worker process.

Cause: Application pools are configured to recycle when memory limits are exceeded. 

Resolution: Change the application pool recycling settings in Internet Information Services (IIS).
1.    Verify that the user account that is performing this procedure is a member of the Farm Administrators group.
2.    Identify the server on which this event occurs. On the Central Administration Web site, in the Monitoring section, click Review problems and solutions, and then find the name of the server in the Failing Servers column. If there are multiple failing servers in a server farm, you must repeat the following steps on each failing server.
3.    Verify that the user account that is performing the following steps is a member of the Administrators group on the local computer that you identified in the previous step.
4.    Log on to the server on which this event occurs.
5.    Click Start, click Administrative Tools, and then click Internet Information Services (IIS) Manager.
6.    In the Internet Information Services management console, in the Connections pane, expand the tree view, and then click Application Pools.
7.    In the Application Pools list, right-click the application pool on which you want to disable the memory limits, and then click Recycling.
8.    In the Edit Application Pool Recycling Settings dialog box, in the Memory Based Maximums section, clear the Virtual memory usage (in KB) and Private memory usage (in KB) check boxes, and then click Next.

                         

9.    In the Recycling Events to Log dialog box, click Finish.

 


I hope the above information will help you to resolve the issue, in case of any queries/questions regarding the above mentioned information then please let me know. I would be more than happy to help you as well as resolves your issues, Thank you.

ShareThis

X